News from the Heights

If you need more information, call Le Moyne's Office of Communications at 315-445-4555 or contact via email Joe Della Posta or Molly McCarthy.

Read past issues of the magazine



Faculty Convocation at Le Moyne College Honors Academic Excellence

SYRACUSE, N.Y. (For Immediate Release) … Le Moyne College celebrated faculty excellence at its spring convocation ceremony, held Wednesday, April 11, by presenting several awards.

Before presenting the awards, Dr. Linda LeMura, provost and vice president for academic affairs, addressed the gathering. “What amazes me most, as parent and as provost, is the way in which you excite and engage our students in the daily course of their studies and as a regular course of your day,” Le Mura said. “In your classes, advising, mentoring, in even the most casual exchanges with students – in the Den, at the PAC, in the library, and the Athletic Center – you translate cura personalis into meaningful practice.”

The Joseph C. Georg Endowed Professorship was presented to Dr. Julie Grossman, professor of English and director of the film studies minor. One of four endowed professorships at Le Moyne, it is a three-year professorship.

Also honored:

Bernard Arogyaswamy, D.B.A, business, as The Rev. Msgr. A. Robert Casey Teacher of the Year
Lawrence H. Tanner, Ph.D., biological sciences, as The Rev. Richard M. McKeon S.J., Scholar of the Year
Theresa L. Beaty, Ph.D., chemistry, with The Rev. Robert E. O’Brien S.J., Service Award
C. Tabor Fisher, Ph.D., philosophy, as The Beatrice Robinson Ph.D., Advisor of the Year
Amber E. George, Ph.D., philosophy, as The Outstanding Part-time Faculty Member of the Year


posted on: 4/12/2012