Since its inception in 1972, the Distinguished Alumnus/na Award celebrates Le Moyne graduates who excel in their profession, contribute to society through community projects, and uphold the Jesuit traditions of the College. Presented during Reunion or Golden Reunion Weekend, it recognizes outstanding achievement and commitment.



# Most Recent Distinguished Alumnus Vincent Brown '74

Of all the classes that Vincent "Vinny" Brown took during his time at Le Moyne College, one in particular stands out in his memory. It was a course on metaphysics led by Charles Kelly, Ph.D., an assistant professor of philosophy at the time. Vinny recalls the day that Dr. Kelly leapt on top of a desk and exhorted, "You've got to take a leap of faith here." In the decades since then, experience has taught Vinny that faith, in yourself, in others and in our capacity to work together, plays a significant role in life's successes. That is especially true when faith is married to hard work.

It was, in part, faith that brought Vinny to Le Moyne. He arrived sight unseen from Hutchinson Central Technical High School (Hutch Tech), the premier public high school in Buffalo, N.Y. The Rev. James Owens, who served as the director of inner-city activities for Le Moyne, visited Hutch Tech and urged Vinny to apply, given his good grades. He did and was awarded a full scholarship. Over the course of four years, Vinny forged valuable friendships and developed a passion for learning, both of which sustain him to this day. After earning a bachelor's degree in political science from Le Moyne and a master's degree in public administration from the Graduate School of Public Affairs at SUNY Albany (now the Rockefeller College of Public Affairs and Policy), Vinny began a long and exemplary career in public service in California and New York. He worked in state budgeting, performance and financial management; public pension fund management; and public debt financing. Vinny was appointed to the role of chief deputy director, budgets for the California Department of Finance by Gov. Arnold Schwarzenegger in 2005. He also served as the chief operating officer for California State Controller Steve Westly.

Early in his career, Vinny spent time as the assistant budget director for the New York State Division of Budget working for Gov. Mario Cuomo. He also worked as a budget analyst for the New York State Assembly's Ways and Means Committee. Vinny was appointed deputy state treasurer, administration and fiscal policy by California State Treasurer John Chiang. He formally retired after onboarding the newly elected State Treasurer Fiona Ma in 2019. However, he continues to share his time and talent as a strategic adviser at Pinnacle Advocacy LLC, a comprehensive government affairs services firm, representing clients before all levels of California state government.

Away from work, Vinny currently serves as the vice chair of the board of trustees of Portico Benefit Services, a ministry of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) that provides retirement, health, life, disability and wellness benefits to those who serve faith-based organizations. The board of trustees has the fiduciary responsibility to ensure that \$8 billion in trust fund assets benefit the ELCA's 46,000 rostered ministers, lay employees and their families.

Most important, he has enjoyed giving back to his alma mater as a member of Le Moyne's board of regents, including its Mission and Identity Committee, and as a member of the 2019 and 2024 Reunion committees. Vinny and his wife, Ann, share the joy of their sons, Alec and Bryce, who both live and work in Sacramento. Alec is also Jesuit educated, having graduated from Santa Clara University.

#### **Past Recipients**

Year	Recipient	Field/Major
1972	Dr. John F. Blasi '54	Education
1973	J. Barry Jesmer '52	Mental Health
1974	Chrysant E. Makarushka '62	Education

	Julia M. Loughlin '62	
1975	Dr. Theresa Riley Buckley '54	Ophthalmology
1976	Robert J. Dermody Sr. '51	Accounting
1977	Dr. James A. Prevost '56	Psychiatry
1978	Dr. Marcia Cleary Kirsch '59	Anesthesiology
1979	Bernard T. King '56	Law
1980	Robert L. Errico '57	Finance
1981	Dr. Frances Giannino Merkley '54	Education

1982	The Rev. Peter C. Major '60	Ministry
1983	Dr. Ronald J. Dougherty '54	Medicine
1984	Daniel S. Frawley '65	Law
1985	Margaret A. Dwyer '54	Education
1986	Dr. Charles F. '52 and Kathleen Hopkins Elliott '51	Medicine
1987	G. Edward Grant Jr. '51	Business
1988	Dr. Mary Ann Abend Donnelly '59	Education

1989	Dr. James R. Mahoney '59 Dr. Jerome J. McGann '59 Marie Gettino McMahon '54	Science Academia Social Services
1990	John D. Collins '60  Dr. William H. McNeill '60 (posthumous )	Business Science
1991	Dr. J. Ronald Fox '51 Anthony S. '61 and Eileen Lawton Oliva '65	Business Community Service
1992	Daniel F. Crough '57	Business

1993	Richard S. Corriero '63  Noreen Reale Falcone '58  Dr. Joanne Sadowski Ingwall '63	Accounting Community Service Medicine
1994	Therese Sharpe Schoeneck '54	Community Service
1995	Carl A. Thomas '65	Education
1996	Anne Jones Endries '66 Francis J. Lostumbo '56 Michael D. Madden '71	Community Service Health Services Business
1997	Michael F. Curtin '62 James J. Zogby '67	Law International Relations

1998	Emil M. Rossi '63 Joan Zuendt Tonra '68	Law Finance
1999	Winifred E. Coleman '54 Joanne T. Marren '74	Education Law
2000	Robert M. Turner '70 John J. Zogby '70	Education Market Research/Polling
2001	Dr. Daniel L. Dombroski '56 John D. James '66	Medicine Business
2002	Daniel R. Brandhorst '82 (posthumous ) Richard A. Hibey '62	Community Service Law

2003	Joseph S. Sansone Jr. '53  Dr. Carl J. Schramm '68	Military Health Care & Finance
2004	Eugene P. Vukelic '54 Robert Fagliarone '59	Industrial Relations Accounting
2005	Dr. Ronald A. Naumann '55 Henry "Hank" E. Braden IV '65	Medicine Law
2006	Dr. Theresa Pace Pretlow '61 Daniel J. Brown '51	Medicine Accounting
2007	John E. Kidd '57	Law Accounting

	Henry Fust '67	
2008	Jane Breschard-Wi Ison '63 Robert J. Hunt '63	Communications Law
2009	Dr. Frank Congel '64 Dr. David Dasher '69	Science Medicine
2010	Dena "Katy" Feeney '60	Mathematics
2011	Dr. Grace Wolff '61	Biology
2012	Leslie Shaw Ph. D. '62	Chemistry
2013	John T. Boorman '63	Mathematics

2014	Robert Doucette '69	Sociology
2015	Dr. Marc D. Brown '75	Biology
2016	S. Richard Fedrizzi '76	Accounting
2017	Kris M. Balderston '77	Political Science
2018	James S. Fralick '63	Economics
2019	Thomas G. Berkery '79	Accounting
2020	Wright L. Lassiter, III '85	Chemistry
2021	Tenzin Priyadarshi Rinpoche '01	Philosophy, Religious Studies, Physics

2022	Susan Gennaro '72 Joan M. McDonald '77	English English
2023	Regina (Lisi) Croucher '93	Accounting
2024	Vincent Brown '74	Political Science