Simon Le Moyne Medal

Founders' Day includes the prestigious Simon Le Moyne Medal ceremony, recognizing outstanding leadership benefiting society. The medal embodies the ideals of Rev. Simon Le Moyne, the first European to visit the Syracuse area, symbolizing peace, faith, vision, and courage. Since 1966, Le Moyne College has honored local and national leaders with this esteemed award.

Year	Recipient
1968	William Pearson Tolley Chancellor, Syracuse University
1969	Joseph W. McGovern Chancellor, Board of Regents, State University of New York
1970	Dr. William B. Walsh President and Founder, Project HOPE
1971	William W. Scranton Governor of Pennsylvania
1972	The Rev. Paul C. Reinert, S.J. President and Chancellor, St. Louis University
1973	Edith Green

	Oregon Congresswoman
1974	Peter J. Costigan New York Assemblyman
1975	Mary Lou Williams Jazz Pianist
1976	The Most Rev. Edward E. Swanstrom, D.D. Auxiliary Bishop of New York Auxiliary Bishop
1977	John T. Connor Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Allied Chemical Corp.
1978	Melvin A. Eggers Chancellor and President, Syracuse University
1979	E.R. Vadeboncoeur President, Newhouse Broadcasting Corp.
1980	Sister Patricia Ann, O.S.F.

	Executive Vice President, St. Joseph's Hospital Health Center
1981	James L. Buckley U.S. Under Secretary of State for Security Assistance/ Science and Technology
1982	Dr. John H. Dessauer Retired Vice Chairman, Board of Directors, Xerox Corp.
1983	The Rev. Msgr. A. Robert Casey Vicar General, Diocese of Syracuse Pastor, St. James Roman Catholic Church
1984	Jerome M. Wilson John D. Wilson Realty Corp.
1985	Leonard P. Markert Sr. Chairman of the Board, Edward Joy Co.
1986	The Most Rev. Frank J. Harrison, D.D. Bishop, Diocese of Syracuse

1987	Catherine 'Kathleen' Patricia Kelly Central New York Coordinator Project Children
1988	The Rev. Msgr. Charles L. Borgognoni Roman Catholic Chaplain, Syracuse University
1989	Robert J. Congel Managing Partner, The Pyramid Companies
1990	The Hon. Tarky Lombardi Jr. New York State Senator
1991	The Jesuits at Le Moyne
1992	Mario Rossi Journalist and Community Volunteer
1993	M. Joseph '55 and Elizabeth B. Dunne Community Volunteers and Leaders
1994	Dorothy Arnold Wilson

	Community Volunteer and Leader
1995	John and Eileen Murphy Community Volunteers and Leaders
1996	W. Carroll Coyne Attorney, Hancock & Estabrook
1997	Richard S. '63 and Suzanne L. '63 Corriero Community Volunteers and Leaders
1998	G. Edward Grant Jr. '51 President, Tallmadge Tire Service
1999	William E. Davis Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer, Niagara Mohawk Power Corporation
2000	John and Fran Vensel Community Volunteers and Leaders
2001	The Hon. Thomas G. Young '69 Civic and Community Leader

2002	Msgr. Joseph M. Champlin Rector, Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception
2003	William and Penny Allyn President, Welch Allyn, Inc. Community Volunteers and Leaders
2004	Anthony '61 and Eileen Oliva '65 Oliva Construction Community Volunteers and Leaders
2005	Robert A. Mitchell, S.J. Le Moyne's 10th President Superior of the Jesuit Community, America House
2006	John James '66& Marie "Pidge" James'66 Community Volunteers and Leaders
2008	The Most Rev. Thomas J. Costello Auxiliary Bishop of the Diocese of Syracuse

2009	James A, Longo, M.D., F.A.C.C., and Christine R. Zapf-Longo '79 Cardiologist, Crouse Hospital Technology Coordinator, Immaculate Conception School
2010	The Rev. Msgr. J. Robert Yeazel, V.G. Pastor, Holy Cross Church Vicar General, Diocese of Syracuse
2011	The Christian Brothers of Syracuse
2012	Armand J. Cincotta, M.D. '57 and Joan M. Cincotta '88 Physician Community Leader and Volunteer
2013	James T. "Jim" and DeDe Walsh Retired Congressman Educator
2014	The Class of 1951

2015	Robert Dracker, M.D., M.H.A., M.B.A., C.P.I Medical Director and Community Volunteer
2016	Aminy I. Audi Chief Executive Officer & President, L & J. G. Stickley, Inc.
2017	Robert P. Doucette '69 Partner, Paramount Realty, LLC
2018	The Schoeneck Family Community Volunteers
2019	John Beilein Coach, Cleveland Cavaliers
2020	Margaret "Peg" Dwyer '54, HD '94, Barbara Maylone Karper HA '07, Margaret "Peg" Snyder HD '79, & Genevieve "Gen" Saya HD '01 Le Moyne's Trailblazing Women

2022	Michael F. Melara '81 and Lisa Mannella Melara '85 Chief Executive Officer, Catholic Charities IBM Corporation
2023	Joe Tesori '71 Head Men's and Women's Golf Coach at Le Moyne College