The Ignatian Awards were created by the Alumni Association's Awards Committee to acknowledge the accomplishments of Le Moyne College's alumni and friends, reflecting the philosophy of St. Ignatius and the core principles of Jesuit education. The Ignatian Award for Service to Le Moyne recognizes devoted volunteerism for the College, presented during Reunion and/or Golden Reunion Weekend.



Most Recent - Ignatian Award for Service to Le Moyne Kathy Donovan '69

In the words of one of her classmates, Kathy Donovan "has worked tirelessly for others for over 50 years. She personifies Le Moyne's motto of 'Greatness Meets Goodness.' The institutions and causes she has been involved in have benefited greatly from her efforts. This effort has often gone unnoticed. It's time for Kathy to be recognized for all she does for others."

Kathy has spent her life teaching, mentoring and creating community. After earning her bachelor's degree in mathematics from Le Moyne College in 1969, she earned a master's in counseling from the Catholic University of America. Her career in education included serving as principal and guidance counselor at Brookfield Central School in Brookfield, N.Y., director of guidance and associate principal at Bishop Ludden Junior/Senior High School in Syracuse, N.Y., and as principal of Notre Dame Junior/Senior High School in Utica, N.Y. Kathy serves as a member of the board of directors for the Marian Club of Notre Dame, which provides tuition assistance to those students who otherwise would be unable to attend Notre Dame High School. In 2016, she was honored by the Marian Club at its annual recognition dinner for her service to Notre Dame and Catholic education.

In 2019, Kathy was a pivotal member of the Class of 1969 Golden Reunion Committee. Since then, she has coordinated regular communications with classmates, renewing countless connections among members of the class and bolstering its participation in events such as Reunion and Giving Day.

Since 2020, Kathy has been a member of the Alumni Association Board, participating as co-chair of the Ignatian Ignite Committee and is an active participant in the Alumni Book Club. Since her own Golden Reunion, she has worked with other committees to plan meaningful remembrance Masses for deceased classmates. Kathy has also generously supported the Campus Ministry program at Le Moyne to help future Dolphins experience a spiritual grounding that will sustain them throughout their lives. Creating community, giving back to others and encouraging her classmates to do the same has created meaning and purpose for this dedicated Dolphin.

Past Recipients

Previous Award Winners		
1994	R. David Carhart '52 Donald Grabowski '54 (posthumous)	
1995	Robert M. Turner, Ph.D. '70	
1996	James A. Longo, M.D. '77	
1997	Angela Uva Bernat '67, MBA '95	
1998	Carol Ryan Fletcher '79	

1999	Kurt K. Ohliger Jr. '86
2001	Joseph A. Barry, M.D. '51
2002	C. Frank Harrigan '67 (posthumous) Elizabeth Sears Snow '57
2003	Donald J. Kirby, S.J. '63 Susan Delmonico Ross '63 F. John Schoeneck Jr. '53
2004	Joseph S. Vogtle '59
2005	John P. Bokal '65 Ann Slattery Bokal '65 Kevin M. Reilly '60
2006	Ferdinand L. Picardi '51
2007	Elizabeth (Keenan) Hicks '72 Dr. Armand J. Cincotta '57

2008	Gabriel Rich III '78
2009	Dr. Robert Daley '54 Thomas Kelly '59
2010	Daniel Mahle '95
2011	Dominick Pullano '76
2012	Bob Betterton '52 Vince Spina '82
2013	Sharon Kinsman Salmon '78
2014	Martin C. Connor '51
2015	Kathleen Bergan Lapsley '75
2016	Larry R. Egan '71 Jack W. Rade '66 and Linda (Ryan) Rade '66

2017	John W. Langdon '67 Michael D. Sgro '97
2018	Edward R. Loos '68 Brain J. Keenan '93 and Allison (Rade) Keenan '93
2019	John J. Bucchignano '69 Richard J. Shaw '89
2020	Joseph A. Russo '70 Timothy J. Fennell '80
2021	James Minogue '76 Greg Victory '96
2022	Donald F. Schalk '72 Thomas V. Fiscoe '77 and Leanne (Hughes) Fiscoe '82
2023	Richard Senecal '53 Dennis "Duke" Donnelly '73